Find us on Facebook

New Dramatists (USA)

New Dramatists is USA’s premier center for the support and development of playwrights. Founded in 1949 by Michaela O’Harra in association with Howard Lindsay, Richard Rodgers, Russel Crouse, Oscar Hammerstein II, John Golden, Moss Hart, Maxwell Anderson, John Wharton, Robert E. Sherwood and Elmer Rice, New Dramatists gives talented writers time and space to experiment and grow, sustained by an inspiring community of peers.

New Dramatists is dedicated to the playwright, and pursues a singular mission: to find gifted playwrights and give them the time, space, and tools to develop their craft, so that they may fulfill their potential and make lasting contributions to the theatre. Regarded as a national leader in playwright support and advocacy, New Dramatists has remained a pioneer in the field of new play development since their inception in 1949. They offer their company of 50 playwrights a home base and self-guided laboratory for seven years, free of charge, in the company of a gifted community of peers. Writers pay nothing to join and participate in New Dramatists. The program is made possible largely through contributions from the theatre and entertainment community. In return for this gift of time and resources, resident playwrights write and create new works for the theatre. The company organizes an average of 90 readings and workshops of new plays and musicals by its playwrights each season.

This unique organization has fostered the work of over 600 playwrights early in their careers, including some of the most revered and influential playwrights of our time: Robert Anderson, Kia Corthron, Nilo Cruz, Horton Foote, Richard Foreman, Maria Irene Fornes, John Guare, David Lindsay-Abaire, Eduardo Machado, Donald Margulies, Lynn Nottage, Suzan-Lori Parks, John Patrick Shanley, Paula Vogel, Mac Wellman, August Wilson, Lanford Wilson, Doug Wright, and many more.

Current playwrights and alumni have won 16 Pulitzers, 24 Tonys®, 68 Obies, 17 Drama Desk Awards, 4 MacArthur Fellowships, and 12 Susan Smith Blackburn Awards. New Dramatists itself is the recipient of a 2001 Tony Honor and a 2005 Obie Award.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version